Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: car shifting out of gear

car shifting out of gear

hello;

I have been driving in the "S" mode for a few months. Yesterday I decided to switch to "W" (its suppose to start in 2nd gear and help save fuel). So I made the switch...

Earlier today, while driving 60KM/hr I decided to accelerate to about 70-80KM/hr the rpms jumped from 2K to about 4.5K then I realized that the transmission had shifted out of gear and the high RPM was just a result of my foot pressing the gas pedal. I had to slow to about 40KM/hr for the transmission to reengage. I was able to drive along with no issues when I accelerated slowly to 80KM/hr. No other problems with engine or anything. No engine light....yet.

I attempted to duplicate this, and I was able to do it every time. As long as I am driving at around 60km/hr and I accelerate the tranny shifts of gear.

Reading some of the posts indicate a faulty MAF sensor. But I didn't read anyone having the same symptoms as the ones I experienced. I don't have a problem, cold starting nor does the car stall.

I switched back to "S" mode and I am still able to duplicate the symptom except with "S" mode the tires sequel and trigger the ESP light upon acceleration.

No, Actually the W stands for winter. So you dont spin the wheels so easily in the snow. Thats why you start off in second also the W mode lowers the shift points.
    julio maravilla

thank you, i understood that already.

OG Moderator
    your car is a 1998, 1999, 2000 MY range?
    Id check the control unit for transmission fluid migration, also check the trans electrical plug for a leak.

it also can be a faulty conductor plate or the valve body itself.
    Im surprised you dont have any codes yet!
    *2002 E320 4Matic Wagon* Daily
    --Not lowered—18" Alphards—Stock exhaust.
    Lots Coming—3 piece 18" AMG Aero II—Custom Bags—Wide Fenders—W210 E55 Engine Swap with 4matic—

*1999 C230K Turbo* Track Car