Thread: Stay away from Dorman flex discs

Stay away from Dorman flex discs

I have followed this forum for some time. I thought I would pass along my most recent experience. My 1996 C280 has 218,000 miles and I bought it used several years ago. It gets regular and preventive maintenance and may well be the best car I have owned.

Since I did not know the complete history of the car, I set about changing the flex discs and center bearing. I have used Dorman products before but their made-in-China policy is going to cost them a lot of customers. I won't buy another Dorman product if I can avoid it for my vehicles or any other vehicle I work on for someone else. I have 45 years in automotive repair, rebuilding, and modification work and I am a licensed mechanical engineer. The Dorman discs were installed carefully and properly.

I changed the flex discs in October. This past weekend, I drove the car backwards onto my ramps to check why I was getting a noise and vibration during hard acceleration (why do people think these cars are slow?). Turns out the Dorman 935-501 flex discs had been flexing. So much so that the bushings in them have hit each other and knocked chunks out of them. The old SGF disks were cracked and a couple of bolts had corrosion on them, but they had probably been in the vehicle a long time.

Don't be fooled by Dorman's claims of quality products. I will now have to take the drive line back out of the car to replace the flex discs (and to ensure everything is okay with the non-Dorman center bearing). I have some Febi-Bilstein replacements on order and I am confident that they will do the job. That is the price you pay when you think you can save a few dollars and get "lifetime" replacement parts.

As you can see, the bolts on the Dorman units did not even have a chance to get dirty. In the second photo, you can see the washer under the bolt is undamaged but the bushing is broken.