Thread: What does the W and the S switch stand for

What does the W and the S switch stand for

Hey there i am a complete Newbe i just bought a c230 K ad have a switch near the shift that says W and S . I am assuming its to turn on the Charger but but what do they stand for ? W.... S.....

Thanks

Winter and Summer, driving conditions.

WOW was i wrong

on slippery winter days, when switched to W, the tranny starts off in 2nd gear, i believe so that the car won't spin out...or at least thats what I was told

C55 Charter Member
    Originally posted by kami230
    Winter and Summer, driving conditions.
    I had thought "Winter" and "Sport".

However, for all you C43/55 owners out there, or other forced induction W202s owners, I bet you think "W" stands for "Wet" too...

In older Benzes W/S is winter summer, in newer ones it's turned into C/S (comfort/sport). And as Kami was starting to suggest, W or C starts the car in 2nd gear for both added traction in slippery conditions. And, because starting in second gear is a "gentler" way to get off the line, they switched things to "comfort".
    If you can thread the needle... and if your drive can lead to Pole Position today, history may hold a place for you tomorrow.

search. think. do. post.

When would you use summer? What does that control do? All I feel is a bit more rpm at the boot.

OG Moderator
    Originally posted by neema12
    When would you use summer? What does that control do? All I feel is a bit more rpm at the boot.

Kami already answer your question.

W : 2nd gear start to eliminate more slipping, with 2nd gear start you wouldn't be able to accelerate as fast from a stand still.

S: 1st gear start (normal start)

Regardz,
    J Irwan by AMG........Motorsport.

i like the concept of having E and S ( economy/sport ) in the older W202's hehe.. quite fun

sorry, was totally off topic