PDA

View Full Version : i'm new to the world of ice

bish0p
08-13-2006, 11:59 PM
Currently my stock headunit has buttons that are coming off and the lcd screen is bleeding. i heard that this is common on a lot of the stock units. I wanted to upgrade my headunit to something that has an ipod interface. Now my question is, would any aftermarket headunit work with the stock bose speakers and set up? I'm planning to get an amp and a 15inch sub for the trunk later on, but right now i'm just looking to get the headunit. I heard that the bose systems are hard to configure with aftermarket equipment so i was wondering if it'd work with just like an alpine headunit or something like that. Thanks in advance.

benzonline
08-14-2006, 04:11 AM
You can have an aftermarket head unit with the W202 Bose systems. It is connected a bit differently I believe and not sure of how but I know it will work as many have done it.

Brando457
08-14-2006, 07:05 AM
just goto your local audio shop and pick up a harnness for your radio. I just did the Kenwood 911DVD flip out in my car and I used a volkswagon harnness and my system plays through my stock bose no problem. Defintly upgrade the headunit, my new headunit with the stock bose speakers so really good compared to the old alpine components i had in my C220.

bish0p
08-14-2006, 12:29 PM
i've heard about people using the VW harness to hook up the headunits, but which harness do i use? ALso does anyone have the wiring diagram for my car? it's a c280 96'. Thanks everyone for their quick replies

rollinrealbig
08-14-2006, 02:28 PM
as for the Ipod interface, I went the cheap way and bought a cable with RCAs at one end and a headphone jack on the other, plugs into the back of your aftermarket deck and the controls are all on the ipod. it only cost $5 and installing is a second after you pull your aftermarket deck out.