PDA

View Full Version : Wiper Fluid Doesn't Spray...

Python01
09-19-2006, 03:38 AM
Hi to all.
I am new to the forum, and I'm a newbie Merc driver too - I just got an 11 year old C280 used.
I just love every aspect of my new(old and used in effect) car!

I did not realize the "Wiper Fluid Non-operation" problem when I bought the car - couldn't check all the details 'cause I was just so excited - yeah, I am like that.

I looked into the hood and made sure the fluid tank is half full, but when I push the flush button, the fluid does not spay. Just the wiper blade scrapes the dry glass like three or four times - no good.

I don't think I hear any sort of pump working under the hood either (tho' I'm not so very sure)... So, probably the pump blew?

I made sure there ain't no leaks at least, either under the car, or along the pipes going through the spray nozzles.
Had anybody previously worked on these wiper fluid related parts, I wonder?

Any comments or opinions would be very much appreciated...

Thanks in advance.

JP

09-19-2006, 04:24 AM
hi and welcome!:)

first check, with a friend, if the pump (into the washer reservoir tank) work when you push the command from the cabin, if no, check first for the fuse, and than check the connection if they are corroded (try moving them and utilize a contact cleaner). At least consider to change the pumo motor, in any case it will not cost a lot, I hope!

If the pumo will work, then check is the pipes are all connected to the nozzles in the bonnet, check all the passages.
Hi

slowpoke
09-19-2006, 06:20 AM
Originally posted by Python01
Hi to all.
I am new to the forum, and I'm a newbie Merc driver too - I just got an 11 year old C280 used.
I just love every aspect of my new(old and used in effect) car!

I did not realize the "Wiper Fluid Non-operation" problem when I bought the car - couldn't check all the details 'cause I was just so excited - yeah, I am like that.