PDA

View Full Version : bump stop cut?

EDM6VIP
12-10-2006, 11:23 PM
i just cut my stock springs, do i need to cut my bump stops also???

if so...how much?

but won't that blow the shocks faster because of more shocks travel... ????

taimyshukah
12-10-2006, 11:36 PM
Are you getting new shocks too? I'm no lowering expert but I do know that stock shocks arent designed to work with lowering/cut springs. They'll definitely blow out sooner if you keep the stock ones.

EDM6VIP
12-11-2006, 09:10 AM
im using stock shocks for now should i cut the bump stops ???or not?????

OCKlasse
12-11-2006, 09:19 AM
as explained to you, if you cut your bumpstop, you will have a smoother ride, but will have also have more suspension travel. There comes a potential risk of rubbing because you more extra travel. Show us a pic of your car and let's decide.

EDM6VIP
12-11-2006, 10:48 AM
OKclasse.....thanks in advance...

about the bumpstop (which one) do i cut... the solid part or the cone looking one? cut in the middle? and leave which one???

please reply asap i'm lowering it right now...

i will show and post the pictures "before & after" type of thing as far as lowering.

but i have another question.....

i just purchased this C220 2 weeks ago...and "i think" that this car has been lowered before.... because i noticed on the rear panel wheel well the fenders are ALREADY ROLLED..... also the front bumper has a rubbing marked i noticed.....

the front spring pads are both #1..... but the rear has #7 on driver side #9 on passenger side... ???

having...#7 and #9 on the rear... is that a BIG difference? and will it make some height issue or shock and springs uneven load ?

i know this is wierd!.......

worst comes to worst i can buy another pad to match which ever one i want to keep (#7 or #9) ....

OCKlasse
12-11-2006, 12:53 PM
Originally posted by EDM6VIP
OKclasse.....thanks in advance...