PDA

View Full Version : Slight oil burning smell?

Forgiven
02-16-2007, 01:17 PM
I've occasionally noticed the smell of burning oil, it's very faint though and not very often. Anyone else have this issue?

Also, my fan is almost ALWAYS on in my car and i've noticed the motor seems to stay fairly hot most of the time (it's never gone into the dangerous zone). Is this regular with our cars?

My last two questions may seem silly, but I've always owned mtx cars, so i'm new to the whole atx thing/feel. Anyway, fairly often if I step on the gas, even floor it, it doesn't downshift for awhile. Yet fairly often as well, when I do the same thing, it immediately drops a gear and takes off.

I drive the car very conservatively -definately not the speedy type, but occasionally I want to drop a gear to get going for one reason or another and it is a bit irritating when it will fairly often just stay in that gear until the rpms get up there. I realize I could also drop to 3rd or 2nd gear on my own, but I'm nervous and don't want to hurt the tranny. ATX's are very foreign to me.

I had the atx fluid checked not too long ago too and they said it looks good. My car also has 136xxx miles on it.

None of these issues have been a huge concern to me, but I figured I might as well see if anyone has experienced similiar issues, what their outcome was or if I'm just "new" and have nothing to be concerned about :)

Proven Guilty
02-16-2007, 01:28 PM
The first thing I would check is if you're actually consuming engine oil. If not...