PDA

View Full Version : Seriously interested in slowly acquiring parts for budget-minded M104 DiY turbo conversion

vixen_w202
12-29-2012, 02:56 AM
I couldn't sleep, and I figured I'd see what was going on the forums early this morning.

I have really fallen in love with my car, but I have hit a point where it simply lacks a lot of things I am looking for like performance and braking. I sat down right before Christmas and wrote down the things I want to do slowly over time with my car, and the one thing I had as the main priorities were a turbo conversion and some sort of brake swap front and rear from some AMG based model benz.

I'm a college student, so I simply can't do a cost-no-object turbo conversion. I'm also willing to get the motor prepped for a turbo up to the point that the motor doesn't have to come out of the car. I know I will probably sound like a traitor or a non-purist, but I was highly tempted at this point to source a JDM 1JZ-GTE supra motor and do a crazy conversion and build the motor slowly over a period of time. However, I think this way because I honestly know very little about the motor under our cars (the c280) all I know is it's a I6 2.8 liter rated at 197HP and has a cast iron block with an aluminum head. I have no idea if my motor is capable of low to medium boost and on a budget over time of anywhere from 2,500-6k. I'm willing to give the motor in my car a chance for boost, but I also kinda feel from advice from friends with other modded cars that it might be better to find an I6 from a car that has a solid track record and aftermarket support.

If I do the conversion on a stock motor, I will need lots of help from the forums. My enthusiasm as a modding and motoring hobbyist is very much there but my fabrication and wrenching skills are limited. My hope is that someone on here who has a turbo'd c280 with the m104 motor can help me come up with a list of: