PDA

View Full Version : Alpine HU won't turn on! 1999 c230 sport kompressor. (New member intro, my first MB)

michalik.piotr6837
02-21-2013, 10:19 PM
Hello, I didn't see a section for intros so just wanted to do a quick intro before asking my first question. I've owned a few VW's and BMW's in the past as far as German cars go (and quite a few 50s, 60s American cars and a few Japanese) but, this is my first MB. Well, actually to be honest its my gf's, i got it for her in lie of her old Civic to have something nicer and quieter. So far I am quite impressed with the car for its age. Still getting use to the power delivery (strange how different it is vs. a 325i e36 even though they are almost identical spec wise on paper....yes, i know...the motor). Disappointed with all the traction control, but I digress.... Nice to be here and I hope to get my question answered.

I've installed quite a few aftermarket sound systems in most of my cars and never had any issues (I am far from a pro installer though, just do it myself b/c I don't trust and can't afford the "pros"). I am stumped now though! I got the Metra adapter plug (searched the web and read quite a few posts on different forums about the possibility of the red and yellow wires being switched for constant on/memory and power), connected it to the Alpine head unit (really seems to be only one way to match up the wires), plugged it in and nothing! Switched the yellow and red wires and still nothing.

What am i missing? Fuse on the deck is good. I am getting power to the red wire on the plug yet the deck does not power up. Deck is good, just pulled it out of the Civic and it worked great, one year old Alpine, hardly used.

Any suggestions? Double checked all the connections, seem fine.

Thank you in advance.......