PDA

View Full Version : ok s/c issue

vaspen
03-15-2013, 07:04 PM
i have been looking for over a hr ....
"
car has 113880 miles and is a (00 komp 4poper)
ok we have had the classic maf stutter with code po170
got cleaner and cleaned the maf ran like brand new ..just today... i fixed that ran like a ferrarri :P

decided to baby it into town so i did, i get to the stop sighn outside of town, it felt like there was
no power and bogging also it has a very ruff idle. i poped d-hood motor shaking like it was missing,
planning to pull the plugs to see what one is missing and to see if there is anything i can do but any input would be nice
i think it could need new plugs, wires, and maby a coilover
also plan on hooking the scanner up tmro to get any new codes. Im starting to get anoyed because im a trucker and not home much everytime i drive it somthing seems to break

anywho thanks for help

P.s a modis scanner can pull m.b codes just as good but hey u pay what you get for ?:confused: ....lol

vaspen
03-15-2013, 07:05 PM
oh forgot im praying that the missfire is causing the s/c to not engage because i dont want to have to pay for a new s/c lol

RemoLexi
03-15-2013, 08:03 PM
Modis will pull fault codes but the problem with aftermarket scanners is its just that ... A fault code.

With factory scan tool (SDS) there's usually a simple test plan setup for you step by step which can be helpful, there's supposed to be new release of an MB diag tool or an SDS replacement soon.

Back to topic, cleaning your maf is like rinsing a used condom for use again. It just doesn't work. I can't stress enough about people cleaning mafs with crap sold at local stores.

All of the junk cleaners still leave residue on the hot film of the maf. You can't see it, but it's there. It will cause inaccurate air flow readings and mess up your air/fuel ratio. When lean mixture is sensed, boost shuts down as a safety mech.