PDA

View Full Version : IS 250 a good deal for ebaich springs and blisten struts

adge_dre
01-05-2015, 06:55 PM
he claims it has 3000 miles on them. he originally wanted 400 and i talked him down to 250. good or no?

Vetruck
01-05-2015, 10:23 PM
If shocks are older then you will see pits all over them from rock hits, etc. Just like a windshield will get pitted after years of age.

My Koni's have about 4000-5000 mikes on them (fairly new) and have probably about 3 or 4 small chips in the paint an average each shock. Paint still looks very new.

adge_dre
01-05-2015, 10:30 PM
If shocks are older then you will see pits all over them from rock hits, etc. Just like a windshield will get pitted after years of age.

My Koni's have about 4000-5000 mikes on them (fairly new) and have probably about 3 or 4 small chips in the paint an average each shock. Paint still looks very new.

I'm completely new to lowering my car. What would I need to look out for when I go to pick up these used shocks, and springs?

Vetruck
01-05-2015, 10:40 PM
I'm completely new to lowering my car. What would I need to look out for when I go to pick up these used shocks, and springs?

Springs need to fit the year car you have. Early years of the w202 took a slightly different spring type then the later years. You will need to reference a website that sells Eibach Springs for your car and make sure the part numbers match what you need.

As for shocks, same thing. BUt also with shocks you need to hold them with the body side of the shock pointing down to the ground and make sure the oil inside the shock has had a little time to settle(about a minute should do sitting upright in proper position. Then simply try and push the top rod down into the shock body and let it release. See if all 4 are about equal in resistence. if not then one or more is showing wear.