PDA

View Full Version : All Black Front Grill

kye420
01-07-2004, 12:03 PM
I am new to this so please bare with me....i own a 1999 BLACK c230 komp (non sport) =( and was wondering if anybody knew anything about changing all the chrome to black. (color matching) ...I have a chrome grill and chrome surroundings surrounding the car. I want my car to be all black including the grill and the side moldings. Does anybody know how i can go about doing this? i went to a paintshop and they said its literally impossible to paint over chrome. But ive seen many mbz's with black grills and black moldings...does anybody know how they do this?

ricerokets4life
01-07-2004, 12:32 PM
http://www.club202.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=204

jnolte
01-07-2004, 12:37 PM
Please do a for this topic has been brought up many times http://www.club202.com/forums/search.php?

Okay to paint the Grille u need to Sand down all Chrome! Then primer then paint. You can do it yourself or have a body shop do it.

For the Chrome trim you can take it off sand it down and have a body shop paint it. OR you can buy sport trim from the dealership.

BenzMeister
01-07-2004, 01:29 PM
Originally posted by kye420
I am new to this so please bare with me....i own a 1999 BLACK c230 komp (non sport) =( and was wondering if anybody knew anything about changing all the chrome to black. (color matching) ...I have a chrome grill and chrome surroundings surrounding the car. I want my car to be all black including the grill and the side moldings. Does anybody know how i can go about doing this? i went to a paintshop and they said its literally impossible to paint over chrome. But ive seen many mbz's with black grills and black moldings...does anybody know how they do this?