PDA

View Full Version : C43: 1/4 Mile Times/weight Reduction/maintenance, New Owner with TONS of questions

MoreTorque99
04-18-2005, 07:43 AM
I bought a 1999 C43 back in Feb. that now has 67,000 miles on it. I finally got my account activated and now I can blurt out all my questions. I have never owned a foreign car before so I am new at this game.

The weather is finally getting nice and the drag strip is now open. Has anyone ever run their C43 down? I have found magazine 1/4 mile times from 14.4-14.9. I do not belive this as my friends Pontiac GTP runs faster than that and I am able to put many car-lengths on him very quickly. I am going on April 27th, but I would like to know what to expect from this car.

Are the E55's of the same year (1999-2001) considerably faster with the 5.5L V8?

I have not been able to find any moderately priced mods for the C43, so I decided to start ripping some weight out. I have gutted the trunk of the spare tire, jack, and the spare tire holder. Floor mats are out and I have no personal items anywhere in the car. The AMG front engine cover is also off. What else has anyone taken off?

I have already done an oil change using a Napa Gold filter and Mobil 1 0w-40. Is there any easy way to get at the air filters? I haven't looked very hard, but it looks like you need to take roughly 6 upside down screws. Is this the correct way?