PDA

View Full Version : W202 and Subwoofer

benzonline
08-27-2005, 01:39 PM
I just had a reputable shop install my 15inch subwoofer with amp tapped into the stock system of my W202 Kompressor sedan.

Did a good job....but being a 15 inch subwoofer its meant for really low frequencies and the rear shelf non bose speakers in my car are somehow set to a special frequency which the sub doesnt match to....meaning in certain songs I play, it sounds like there is no sub...but if there is a low "boom" part it kicks in.

Can this be solved swapping to a 12 inch sub or 2 10 inch?
They pick up more higher bass.

jnolte
08-27-2005, 01:50 PM
so basically you are using stock deck with a converter tapped to the rear speakers?

If you get a deck it should solve this, but i am no ICE expert someone else should ring in, i could be wrong

c280nz
08-27-2005, 03:32 PM
this is a little confusing?
so does ur stock system have a rca output?
i wouldnt think so, so my guess is that they have put ur rear speaker input into the amp as high level inputs, so it only receives the sound from the rear higher wattage output.
u could try adjusting the crossover "x-over" for low pass on ur amp.
there should be some levels on ur amp, normally high pass filter adjustment, low pass filter adjustment and gain.
try adjusting the low pass filter , as this adjusts the cut in frequency for the bass on the amp.

otherwise u may have to try and get a full range input for ur amp as the factory crossover on your rear parcel tray may be limiting the range the sub can receive.
u may find changing to a 12" sub may not change anything without the above problem being sorted.
U may or maynot already know all what i just said but thats my thoughts on it.
hope this helps ;-)

Beau M
08-27-2005, 04:42 PM
10 and 12 inch subs do not play lower bass than a 15. Also, a 15 is no less "accurate" than a smaller sub. These are all myths, which make no sense.