PDA

View Full Version : Shocks, struts, question...

r0csfinest
09-28-2005, 05:44 PM
I have a C280 98. Am I suppose to get front and rear shocks or front shocks and rear struts or what? :(

benzfan
09-28-2005, 06:03 PM
There are no struts. Front and rear are simple straightforward shocks, and are intuitively easy to install yourself.

r0csfinest
09-28-2005, 06:13 PM
woooh THANK GOD! Cause I ordered front and rear shocks a while ago. And my friend was telling me I MIGHT need struts. WHEW what a relief! THANKS!

benzfan
09-28-2005, 06:19 PM
Except.....Don't forget to put some of the weight of the car on the suspension arms when undoing the bolts, for obvious reasons.

202rules
09-28-2005, 08:12 PM
Originally posted by benzfan
Except.....Don't forget to put some of the weight of the car on the suspension arms when undoing the bolts, for obvious reasons.

The obvious reason is not getting yourself killed here in case it's not clear enough.

I've never done this before and I'm gonna be doing it in the next couple of weeks with the help of one of my friends who's done it before and I'm still kinda freaking out about those high tension springs coming loose.

SO BE CAREFUL.

c280nz
09-28-2005, 09:53 PM
the standard springs are a bastard to get out! you will probebly also have to unbolt the bottom suspension arm off the subframe using a jack to take the spring weight thats what i had to do, not just unbolt the shock

benzfan
09-29-2005, 03:16 AM
Originally posted by c280nz
the standard springs are a bastard to get out! you will probebly also have to unbolt the bottom suspension arm off the subframe using a jack to take the spring weight thats what i had to do, not just unbolt the shock