PDA

View Full Version : 1996 C280 Elegance

affadu15
01-06-2006, 07:46 PM
Hi there Folks

I am a new member to this site and already have a few problems i need help with. I have literally purchased a 1996 C280 Elegance. Superb car but i seem to have a sqeaky fan belt. I have tried lubricating it and it stops for a while and starts again. Before i bought this car it had been sitting at the dealers for about 5 months. Is this a factor to the fan belt sqeak. Also i cannot switch on the fog lamps without swtiching the high beams on. Is this normal as i am a novice with Mercedes Benz's.

Nice to be a part of this site/Forum

SLAMMED_C
01-06-2006, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by affadu15
Hi there Folks

I am a new member to this site and already have a few problems i need help with. I have literally purchased a 1996 C280 Elegance. Superb car but i seem to have a sqeaky fan belt. I have tried lubricating it and it stops for a while and starts again. Before i bought this car it had been sitting at the dealers for about 5 months. Is this a factor to the fan belt sqeak. Also i cannot switch on the fog lamps without swtiching the high beams on. Is this normal as i am a novice with Mercedes Benz's.

Nice to be a part of this site/Forum
what are you using to lubricate your belt?... most likely its just the belt.. Ive gone through a few belts cause they are squeaky...

as for the fog light question.. they should work with the high beams off.. and with the headlight switch turned to on all the way and pulled out all the way.

affadu15
01-06-2006, 09:18 PM
Thanks for your reply Slammed_C

I have been using WD40 lubricant. Probably not the best i guess. Any better lubricant you can suggest?

As with the Fog lamps i thought there might be a wrong connection somewhere.

SLAMMED_C
01-06-2006, 09:22 PM