PDA

View Full Version : Where to put my Brain

rman
05-19-2006, 08:56 PM
Just as the title suggest, where should I put my brain?

For my kenwood kvt715-dvd...in dash dvd, i have a hideaway brain. It's about 1.5"x8"x7" ish..

I've only had the car for 5 days so I'm still learning the interior...
No room under the seats, all the motors and stuff. No room under the rear seat, there's just no room.

I'd like to get it in the dash, or below it somewhere, so that I DON'T have to get an antenna extension. But if i can't figure it out, i'll have to get an extension and throw the whole brain in the trunk.

Anyone have suggestions as to where to put this unit? How about under the center console? And how do I take that apart?
I also can't figure out the door sills, do i just have to get in there with a screwdrive and pop it off?

Anyone else here switch the locations of the climate control with their HU? I am going that route, so that when my flip up screen is up, it's at a better viewing angle, so i'm not looking straight down as I attempt to skip to the next track :D

I'm done for tonight, but if anyone has suggestions, i'll check in the morning. That will dictate whether or not my broke ass has to buy an antenna extension.

Great news, my old sub enclosure with my 2 10" fit perfectly in the trunk, and the carpet almost matches...lol

zzDragonzz
05-19-2006, 09:29 PM
hmm...good question I was going to say under the passenger seat, but you ruled that out due to mechanisms already there...I would say your best bet would be behind the center console, or definately in the trunk...let me know cause I plan on getting a screen for my car also if no one purchases it....

take care
Su

rollinrealbig
05-19-2006, 09:31 PM
umm, if this was my setup id try to shove it behind the HU if I could, other then that - mount it under your dash.

c280nz
05-19-2006, 11:51 PM