PDA

View Full Version : New Headunit, help needed

MirageHatch
05-31-2006, 06:10 PM
I just had a kenwood kdc 5033 headunit installed..

Now heres a problem (dont you love how when you go changing/adding stuff to cars things ALWAYS go wrong!)

With stock stereo my front right tweeter wasn't working but the door speaker was....not a huge problem....now that the headunit is in, the tweeter works but not the door speaker?

i really wanna work out why this is? the place that installed it doesnt know why....

what should i check?

any info would be greatly appreciated!! i wanna get this sorted asap!

jnolte
05-31-2006, 06:30 PM
just sound like one of your wires is loose or crossed, double check!

MirageHatch
05-31-2006, 06:43 PM
sorry i dont mean to sound like a noob but im new to the mercedes world....where would i check the wires?

they are still stock speakers, should i check the crossover?

there is only 1 set of mercedes wires that comes out the the back of the headunit for front right speaker(s) and we tried wiggling that but it didnt do anything. the guys were saying the woofer and tweeter both get the signal from that 1 wire.

is there a crossover somewhere that seperates the woofer and tweeter signal? where? there may be something going on there

iwhocorrupts
05-31-2006, 08:12 PM
follow the speakers backwards from the tweeter and the door speaker, probably a bad wire or connection where it splits

jmerritt
05-31-2006, 08:53 PM
the head unit in my merc was all messed up, there were only 2 wires that left the head unit and they went to an amp which was on the passenger side (up front where your feet go under the floor matt) anyway i had to run new all new wires from the head unit to where the amp was as thats where all the speaker wires were.

MirageHatch
05-31-2006, 10:33 PM