PDA

View Full Version : Replacing brake pads



JRE320
07-31-2003, 12:58 AM
Anyone got any pics or instruction on how to replace the front brake pads of a W202? I think the rear is much easier.
I've not tried replacing the front brake pads of my C-class before.
And it's about time for me to replace them.. :( Why nowwwwww...... :( :rolleyes: :bored: ;)

MBATF
07-31-2003, 02:25 AM
I know how, and i think i do have teh pics for it i m not sure let me look for it, and if you need help i will drive to ur place and help you!!!!

MBATF
07-31-2003, 02:27 AM
dude..nm i forgot when my pc crashed 3 montehs ago i lost evrything... but hey i do have teh book teach you how tho! wanna barrow it?!

nokia8860
07-31-2003, 07:16 AM
Uncap your brake resevoir first.

Looking at your caliper towards the bottom there is a screw/bolt. You will need to wrenches (forgot the size) to undo this.

Once remove this will allow the upper part of the caliper to swing up. Remove the outter pad. Using a brake piston tool (bout 5 bucks or so at pepboys) and the old innerpad, push the brake piston back into the caliper to allow room for your new and thicker pads to fit.

Put the new pads in. Swing back down the top caliper and bolt things up. Re cap your resevior and pump your brakes till it gets hard again.

JRE320
07-31-2003, 08:00 AM
So all I need to do is take off that 1 bolt at the bottom and I would be able to swing up the caliper? ummm sounds pretty easy and I think it's a 13 or 15mm socket if I'm not mistaken.
Thanks Dave for the offer but I still need to order my pads.
Don't know yet if I would go for the same one I got right now w/c is Porterfield. I got this pad for 3 long yrs now and I think it's worth the $$$. Thanks... ;)

nokia8860
07-31-2003, 08:18 AM
Its easier than changing oil! :bandit:

Now if you got those spanking GT brakes even easier as they just slide in and out of the hole on the top caliper... get the right wheels and you dont even have to take the wheels off to do pad changes! Talk about slick.

CKlasse
07-31-2003, 08:41 AM
Use a c-clamp to push back your inner pad/piston.

The right way to do this of course is to machine your rotors also. Then you wont have to touch your front brake again for the next few years. :)

nokia8860
07-31-2003, 08:44 AM
Originally posted by CKlasse

The right way to do this of course is to machine your rotors also. Then you wont have to touch your front brake again for the next few years. :)

Correct, but you forget we're lazy :p

jnolte
07-31-2003, 11:18 AM
Originally posted by nokia8860
Correct, but you forget we're lazy :p



VERY LAZY!!!!!:o :o :o :o :o :confused:

Brabus
07-31-2003, 01:18 PM
Just FYI... a new bolt should come with the set of pads you're using because those bolts are often lined with loctite. So don't worry if you end up stripping a bolt.

In any case, it is really easy! Even I did it!

JRE320
07-31-2003, 03:16 PM
Originally posted by nokia8860
Correct, but you forget we're lazy :p

:werd: :p :D ;) :cool:

JRE320
08-30-2003, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by Brabus
Just FYI... a new bolt should come with the set of pads you're using because those bolts are often lined with loctite. So don't worry if you end up stripping a bolt.

In any case, it is really easy! Even I did it!

Sorry I don't think I got a new bolt from Gerry of MYROADSTER.COM. :(

FreeStyler
08-31-2003, 12:59 PM
If I can change my brakes, then you can. Trust me.